Concert season is continuing with performance of Duo Aliada

PLAKAT maj-1The Kragujevac audience will have the opportunity to enjoy the rare and interesting combination of saxophone and accordion at the next concert of the “Convivium Musicum 17/18” season. On Saturday, May 26th at 19h, at the Old Assembly building, Duo Aliada will be performing.

Duo Aliada consists of two exceptional young musicians, Michał Knot and Bogdan Laketic. Michał is a saxophonist from Poland, while Bogdan is from Serbia and plays accordion. Both are outstanding artists behind, who have successful independent careers. Since 2013, Michał and Bogdan have joined their artistic skills and created an unusual mix of two seemingly incompatible instruments. Accordion which we most often associate with folk music and saxophone without which jazz can’t be imagined, in the performance of Duo Aliada get the role of the aesthetic classical instruments, whose sounds are in perfect harmony.

Since the 12th annual Fidelio Wettbewerb where Duo Aliada unanimously won Grand Prix and was awarded with the Prize “Artist of The Year 2014” sponsored by HFP Steuerberater Wien, their career is moving with a great ascent. According to critics, renowned professors and artists, Duo Aliada is distinguished by exceptional creativity, emotion and great technique. In addition to showing a wide range of possibilities of their instruments, Michał and Bogdan create a new perception of sound of artistic, and above all, chamber music.

At the concert in Kragujevac, Duo Aliada will be performing following program:

  • WITOLD LUTOSŁAWSKI − Dance preludes
    • Allegro molto
    • Andantino
    • Allegro giocoso
    • Andante
    • Allegro molto – Presto
  • EDVARD GRIEG − Lyric pieces
    • Brooklet Op. 62 No. 4
    • Melody Op. 47 No. 3
    • March of the Dwarfs Op. 54 No. 3
  • IGOR STRAVINSKY − Petrushka
    • Part I The Shrovetide Fair − IV Russian Dance
  • BELA BARTOK − Romanian Folk Dances
    • Jocul cu bâtă
    • Brâul
    • Pe loc
    • Buciumeana
    • Poarga Românească
    • Mărunțel
  • TOMASZ SKWERES − Coffin ship
  • CHICK COREA − Children’s songs
    • No. 6
    • No. 4
    • No. 11
    • No. 7
    • No. 20
  • GEORGE GERSHWIN − Three preludes
    • Allegro ben ritmato e deciso
    • Andante con moto
    • Agitato

The concert is held with the help of the city of Kragujevac and the Kulturforum Belgrad. The entrance is free.

Author and translation: Ljubica Guzvic


Biography: Duo Aliada

Duo Aliada 1 web©Siavash TalebiThe Wiener Musikverein said it best, Duo Aliada consists of two “outstandingly talented and creative musicians”, namely saxophonist Michał Knot and accordionist Bogdan Laketic.
Since their foundation in 2013, the duo has quickly caught the attention of the classical music world, which resulted in securing a busy concert schedule with more than 100 performances on five different continents, many in illustrious concert venues such as the:Carnegie Hall, Wiener Musikverein, Tonhalle Zürich and the Hermitage Theatre in Saint Petersburg.

It all began with their staggering success at the 12th annual Fidelio Wettbewerb where Duo Aliada unanimously won Grand Prix and was awarded with the Prize “Artist of The Year 2014” sponsored by HFP Steuerberater Wien. In 2015, The Duo recorded their debut studio album “New colours of the past” with ARS Produktion and it has been received with tremendous critical acclaim. They were also selected for the international program “The New Austrian Sound of Music 2016-17”, a prestigious sponsorship platform funded by the Austrian Government. Duo Aliada have been regularly featured on popular radio broadcasts such as ORF1, SWR2, BR Klassik, and Radio Klassik and they couldn’t be more excited to continue sharing their unique music with audiences all around the world.

Michał Knot is a D’Addario and Selmer performing artist.
Bogdan plays a Pigini Bayan accordion.

©Ph. C. Siavash Talebi